Wednesday, 05 April 2017 10:58

SMSS in IET Faraday Challenge Day National Finals

The IET Brunei Darussalam Do-It-Yourself (DIY) Faraday Challenge 2017 Preliminary Round was held in Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) last Sunday, 2nd April 2017. There were eight teams which joined the competition from four different private schools in Brunei. Out of the eight teams, two teams represented Seri Mulia Sarjana School Secondary Section, one of which got into the National Level Final Round which will be held in the last quarter of the year. 

The school finalist team, comprised of six participants from Year 9 - Ethan Chean Kai Jun, Abraham Ming Moncherry, Muhammad Hafezzul Hazzeq Bin Mohammad Sufri, Abhishek Kurup, Francis Neil and Muhammad Aiman Syakir received a cash prize worth $200 and certificates of participation. The team came up with a hydraulic powered mechanical arm made from recycled materials.

The hydraulic powered mechanical arm made from recycled materials

The hydraulic powered mechanical arm made from recycled materials


The participating teams underwent four stages in the competition which consisted of Planning and Research (30 minutes), Development and Modifications (3 hours), Final Build and Testing of Prototype (30 minutes) and the Final Test and Team presentation (1 hour 15 minutes). Our students were able to manage the time wisely and got a special comment from one of the judges that their design was excellent. Moreover, the participants of the second team from our school were Nur Huzaimatul Fitri Abd Alimi, Wafiqah Binti Abdul Wahid, Janelle Joyce A. Perez and Chloe Lai Xhue Yiing. They all received certificates of participation. It was a proud moment for the teachers-in- charge, Jeffrey Gallardo Donguines and Dhanya Ramachandran.