Wednesday, 13 September 2017 10:14

SMSS Achieves Award in IET Faraday Challenge National Finals

Six hard-working and dedicated Year 9 students of Seri Mulia Sarjana School, Secondary Section namely - Ethan Chean Kai Jun, Abraham Ming Moncherry, Muhammad Hafezzul Hazzeq Bin Mohammad Sufri, Abhishek Kurup, Francis Neil and Ak Syaqrul Nizam Bin Pg Darulehsan achieved the first runner-up award and received $500 cash prize and certificates, in the recently concluded IET Brunei Darussalam Do-It-Yourself (DIY) Faraday Challenge 2017 National Finals that was held at Times Square Shopping Centre in Berakas on 26th August 2017.

Organised with the collaboration of the Oil and Gas Discovery Centre (OGDC), the competition paved the way for the students to gain some insights into the roles and responsibilities of an engineering team, as they were required to explain their ideas, costs and implementation plans to a panel of judges. The finals saw six teams – which qualified from a preliminary round of 12 teams – comprising 36 students from six different schools competing against each other.

The aim of the activity was to give students the opportunity to research, design and make prototype solutions to genuinely tough engineering problems. This is in-line with the IET Brunei vision and mission in promoting the general advancement of science, engineering and technology and to facilitate the exchange of information and ideas on these subjects amongst the general public especially students.

In the finals, students researched, designed and produced prototype solutions to genuinely tough engineering problems they encountered in the previous challenges.
The challenge also developed the students’ problem solving, team working and communication skills, as well as providing an opportunity for the students to put into practice the theories of the subjects they love. The prizes were presented by IET Brunei Darussalam Chairperson for the 2014-2017 session, Simon Leong Kian Ann, and OGDC’s Science Communicator, Albert Chang Yew En. Our students were under the supervision of Tr Jeffrey Gallardo Donguines and Tr Dhanya Ramachandran.